I’m back.

That’s right.  You’re 300 words of weekly fun – hope to have bi-weekly posts – have returned after years of silence .  While writing stalled, I continued running.  My blog began with my journey to conquer the Denver Marathon.

I finished in 5:42:09.

While off the blog I ran 3 more Denver Marathons (plus the Colfax and Boulder Marathons).  This past Denver race I crossed the finish line in 4:58:36.  A new PR.

Kylerun

I have some new adventures in mind this year:  to PR in a half marathon and to step into ultramarathon territory – a 50k.

I want, so very badly, to run a sub-2 hour half marathon.  I came close in 2010 with a time of 2:06:57 at the Colfax Half Marathon.  Most recently I finished the 2012 Georgetown to Idaho Springs Half in 2:11:38.

The Ralston Creek Half Marathon has been selected for this next challenge.  It is a February race – Brrrrr.  I had some bad races in the winter months but I am not going use that as a deterrent (at least I am going to try).

Another thing I have going for me is I returned to a Hal Higdon running plan.  Hal’s plans have always been great for me.  He puts in cross training, running, double workouts and long runs.

And somewhere a rest day fits in there.

Tip of the Week

After last weekend’s 5k I was reminded that barefoot running is something to begin slowly and stay consistent with – much like running.  I wore my Vibram Bikila‘s for the first time in months.

Vibram Bikila

I couldn’t run for two days post-race.

My lower legs were trashed.  I consistently ran in the shoes for most of last year – including the 14.5 mile Mt. Evans Ascent – without a problem.  As fall and winter came about I put the Vibrams away and hadn’t put them on in months until last weekend’s race.

So how do you get into barefoot/minimalist running?

Start slowly.  After opening the box, put them on and wear them around the house or on errands.

After a couple times go outside – softer surfaces, such as dirt or a local track, are best – and do 1-2 miles.  Keep at this level for a week.

If comfortable, start the following week expanding the distance you traverse in your Vibram shoes.  I typically went by feel.  If it felt fine, my next run went farther.  I later tried on different surfaces, like streets.

Nearly two years have passed since I put on my first bare of minimalist shoes and I am a big believer they will make anyone a stronger and better runner.

Happy Running,

Kyle

Ready to run at 4:30 a.m. in Arizona's Lake Havasu.

Ready to run at 4:30 a.m. in Arizona’s Lake Havasu.

About kdenny01

I am 28. Two years ago I made a bet with my mom that wound up getting me to strap on a pair of running shoes and do a 5k. Now I'm training for the Denver Marathon.
This entry was posted in active lifestyle, healthy and active lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, personal, Running for fitness, Running for sport and competition, running to relieve stress, The best running gear and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

