Hello world!

Welcome to the Runner’s Hangout.  No activity today, just rest.  Let me spend this time introducing myself.

My name is Kyle, 27,  and I am about to graduate from college (finally!).  December 2010 will mark this epic event.  It has been quite the battle.  My collegiate career started in 2002 spanning across 3 schools in 3 different states and, coincidentally, 3 changes of my Major.

When I was 10 I had a brain tumor that changed my active lifestyle. I stopped participating in recreational sports until 2 years ago when I made a bet with my mom that wound up getting me to strap on a pair of running shoes.  Now I’m addicted and loving it.

So addicted that completing an array of 5k and 10 races, 2-20k’s and 2 half-marathons, with one more to go in August, just wasn’t enough.  That’s when I decided to put the marathon goal on the calendar.  Then my favorite running partner, my girlfriend Melissa, got me thinking about moving that date up.  We ended up deciding on Denver’s first Rock n’ Roll Marathon, October 16, 2010.

Today marked the first day of our training program.  We are following Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training Guide:  Novice 1.  It begins with a rest day.  What a great way to begin a program!

Today I have excelled at doing nothing.  So far I mustered up enough energy to do some house cleaning and organizing, brushed my cat, and finally created this Web page.  Where does the time go!

Tomorrow starts the first run.  A 3-mile run.  Perfect for getting in before a long day on campus.  This day of rest marks the beginning of this journey and I’m excited to move forward with the experience.

Get out and fill your passion bucket

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Crystal says:

    Good Luck Kyle & Melissa!!!

  2. Melissa says:

    Good idea on the blog…maybe I can add a little of my perspective too.

Leave a Reply

