Day 2: The first run

Welcome back!

The schedule had me doing 3 miles today.  A nice, easy way to start.  Makes me laugh to think about how far I’ve come.  Two years ago I began the Couch to 5k program.  In the first week it has 8 intervals of 60 second running with 90 seconds recovery.  Man, that was tough.  I had just quit smoking and had spent years avoiding physical activity.

I encourage anyone wanting to get into running that keeps thinking “I just can’t do it.  I’m out of shape,” to give the Couch to 5k a try.  It can be downloaded on iTunes so that a guide will walk through the program with you.  Otherwise it can simply be printed out.

So back to the easy 3-mile run.

The morning started earlier than usual.  I was up at 5:30 a.m. which gave me plenty of time to adjust my playlist and down a glass of chocolate almond milk before heading out the door with Melissa at 6:30.

The sun was sneaking over the clouds.  The morning coolness felt so good.  It is worth waking up early to avoid running in the heat.  Melissa and I did a five-minute walk to warm-up and decide out route.

We ran up Colorado Blvd at an easy pace.  Then picked it up a little going around East Lake.  By the time we rounded the corner of our town home I couldn’t believe it was already over.  Word of advice:  don’t try to hold a serious conversation while on a run.  Most of the time it will end in a fight.  Keep the conversation casual.  You will thank me later.

I finished the 3 miles in 32:08.  That is a pace of 10:38. Pretty good for a training run.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 2: The first run

  1. Melissa says:

    Good point about not having a serious conversation on a run. Running just releases hormones and makes everything ten times worse. Just wait until after the run next time 🙂

  2. Carol says:

    I’m so excited your training for a marathon! Tell me what is a passion bucket? Love Mom

    • kdenny01 says:

      A passion bucket is a term I’m “sampling” from the great Dan Patrick Show. It was first used by Rick Neuheisel on Dan’s show and describes the amount of energy or love or excitement one has for a certain event or thing.

Leave a Reply

