Day 5: Down-time leads to boredom

Today’s agenda:  Rest.

Welcome back,

morning paper and coffee

After three days of good running, a day off is much deserved.  Today should be easy enough.  So far I have made some coffee and read the newspaper, listened to a few podcasts, ate breakfast, and played with Jezebel.  A good start at accomplishing the day’s task.

Jezebel, best kitty in the whole world

There are only a few rest days in which I truly do nothing.  Most rest days consist of some kind of activity – hiking, walking, biking, stuff around the house – which Hal Higdon says  is fine.  He advises to take it light with cross-training actives, such as biking or swimming, that work different muscles.

Remember, I am following Higdon’s Marathon Training: Novice plan.

The reason for this experts say is to prevent injury.  I have always incorporated cross-training and rest into my training.  So far I’ve had no major injuries and only a couple minor ones.

Later this afternoon I plan to go do some errands via bicycle.  So I’ll count that in my activity.  If I get out soon enough I could avoid the heat.  However, I am writing about my trials of marathon training to those in the blogosphere.  What could be more important!

I hear so many people talk about running being so much work.  When I began Couch to 5k I don’t think I ever felt like that.  I had my days, and still do, in which I would rather lie in bed or just not run.  But I have never felt running to be like work.  I enjoy the competitiveness, runners I’ve met, settings I would never have seen, and most of all the sense of accomplishment.

I like the confused look on people’s face when I mention I am training for a marathon.  It is true, not all runners are 6’2″ and have the legs to make an incredibly long stride.  “Yes, a marathon…Indeed, 26.2 miles,” I have to repeat over and over as some find it hard to believe I would have such a goal.

Sometimes sitting at my computer I will take a look over my left shoulder.  I smile at the medals that signify “Yes, I did it.”

Word of advice:  Use rest day’s to re-charge your motivation.  A runner can get so intense in training that it becomes a chore.  Pick up a cross-training activity to do on those rest days.  It will help to remind us in our training as to why we run:  it’s fun!

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Me and my favorite running partners - Melissa (right) and my mom (left).

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

