Day 6: Slow and Steady

Today’s Agenda:  9 miles

Welcome,

The long Saturday run is finally here, what a joy!  That sounded fake even in writing it.  Lots of runners dread “the long one.”  Don’t be ashamed if you are part of that crowd.  Often, I am in there too.

Melissa and I had a couple obstacles in getting out today.  We are total gomers when it comes to setting this alarm – in a few months we will be pros.  So no alarm woke us for an early start.  Luckily, I awoke shortly after 5:30 this morning.  The sun was already up so I knew it was going to be a hot day.

Then went over to Westminster to feed my mom and Randy’s dog.  They went back to Nebraska to visit family and the humidity.

By the time Melissa and I got out our door to run it was 10 minutes till 7:00.  Of course the route we decided to run lacked shade.  But we finished.

We did our warm-up a little long so that we started near 120th and Colorado, then ran down to the rec center and took one of the trails past a pond.

A boot camp class was outside doing some incredibly limber stretches.  Looked tough.  Maybe that will be on the horizon of challenges I want to accomplish.  I can already see my lack of coordination making an enjoyable session to watch.

After looping over Colorado Blvd. and hitting the turn around, the sun and temperature had both risen too much.  It had already reached 70 degrees by the time we got home.

The last mile home was a bit tough.  The heat was beginning to wear me down.  Melissa too.  I still had a little water but it was too warm to drink.  In those moments toward the end of a run sometimes you just have to gut it out.

The first 3/4 of a race can be planned.  Training has prepared one’s self to endure it.  That last quarter of the race can sometimes be pure bliss, and other times it can be purely agonizing.  Today was one of those “grin and bear it” moments.

I completed the 9 miles in 1:40:53.  I hit that time dead on as I predicted 1:40 when Melissa asked how long I thought it would take.  My pace was 11:15 per mile.

Word of Advice:  Get out early.  Sleeping an extra hour might sound good but you pay for it in the end.  The sun beats on you.  Jeff Galloway says that for every 5 degrees above 60, it increases its effect on your stamina.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Me in Nebraska. Top of the tower at Mahoney State Park.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 6: Slow and Steady

  1. Melissa says:

    I wanted to stop the entire last mile but I didn’t let myself imagining being faced with the giant that is the marathon…I figure at least a few of those moments of total agony and hoping my training will give me the strength to push through them….also our alarm sucks.

Leave a Reply

