Day 9: Maintenance…just sounds bad.

Today’s Agenda:  3 miles

Welcome back,

Tuesday.  Back into the grind of things.  This day of the week marks the first day of school for the week and the beginning of a three-day stretch of “maintenance” runs.

Maintenance runs are “muscle memory runs,” according to John “the penguin” Bingham.

Maintenance just sounds like work.  Because they are on weekdays and I have to get up early, they sometimes feel like it.  So does anyone in the blogosphere know of anyways to spice up these shorter workouts?

I’m going to do some research and post some ideas as I find them.  I can’t wait to see what other readers ideas are coming up with.

The shorter runs not only help in recovery of the muscles us runners tend to abuse but they remind the body how to run and walk.  They are the “pre-test” to the weekend’s longer workouts.

So how did today’s pre-test go?  Good.  Warm, it was near 70 degrees already by 6:30 this morning.

I did a route-repeat.  The one starting outside my house, took the trail just past 128th, and around East Lake before heading back home.

So I never have to explain routes more than once I am going to start naming them.  Then I will map them on google maps or the Nike+ Web site and try to link it to the page.

I will call today’s route “East Lake 2.”  Why is it 2.  Well I have a more common route to East Lake that I haven’t took in awhile.

Today I tried out the beginning of my Denver Marathon playlist.  It consists all of rock music – from light rock (Bryan Adams) to classic rock (CCR) to current rock (Less Than Jake).  I was pretty happy with it.  It started with mostly Adams and Elvis, so could use more variety but I totally was able to lose myself in it.

Most runners know John “the Penguin” Bingham (I just used his quote earlier).  If not, he was a columnist for Runner’s World.  My girlfriend didn’t believe me but he has left the magazine.  A couple months ago he posted his farewell column.  Melissa notified me Bingham has started a blog.

The address is:  http://www.johnbingham.com/.

Today’s 3-mile run took 32:26.  My pace had picked up to 10:48 per mile.  Now I have to clean up and sit in a couple English classes.  Writing it just bored me.  Guess I will have to pick up my spirits by stopping by the Santa Fe Cookie Company!

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Yes...I still have a Kordell Stewart jersey.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active lifestyle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 9: Maintenance…just sounds bad.

  1. Melissa says:

    patiently awaiting cookies!

Leave a Reply

