Day 10: A Breakthrough

Today’s Agenda:  5-mile run
Time – 53:15
Pace – 10:37/mile

Welcome readers,

This morning I am sitting at Starbucks.  Did everyone know they offer free Wi-Fi to customers – not just AT&T customers.  My sister told me how Starbucks jumped first to offer internet service and signed a 10-year deal with the communications company that is ending soon.

That deal must be expired.  I sat down and my computer easily connected to the internet.  No, I am not with AT&T.  So thanks sis!

http://news.starbucks.com/article_display.cfm?article_id=411

Colorado is always hot.  But this year it is really tough on runners.  I see people out running at 10:00 a.m. or in the afternoon and it makes me think why did they not wake up early.  Luckily my girlfriend, and running partner, feels the same way.  Beat the heat.

So we awoke at 5:30 this morning and were out the door by 6.

This morning’s route began at the trail head and headed west.  So that incorporated the big hill going up Holly Street.  That was only the first hill, and not the biggest.

We turned onto 120th and kept heading west.  There is a beautiful trail.  At this point, there are no more streets interrupting the path.  It goes under the roads and makes for smooth running.

Having no intersections to cross should be a joy but the hill I ran into was a giant.  It is not that steep, just long.  It goes on and on.  Thank goodness I wasn’t having to deal with the heat, although the sun was  beginning to warm.

Once I reached the top of the hill I took off.  Remember, I got to barrel down one of the previous hills.  Then back onto the trail and towards home.

The time I finished in pleased me.  I gave a hard push the last mile and a half, combined with the hills, a 10:37 pace is welcomed.

Word of Advice:  Get in your runs before 10 a.m. or after 6 p.m says Julia Moffitt, Ph.D., assistant professor of physiology and pharmacology at Des Moines University.   She tells Runner’s World that a runner might want to do some light workouts in the heat of the day to help adjust to the heat.  In that article, Lewis Maharam, M.D., medical director for the Rock n’ Roll Marathon Series advises runners to dump water over their heads during a run when the heat brings about exhaustion.  “It will help drop your core temperature,” he says.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Melissa and I ran all the way to that building in the background..12.4 miles

p.s.  the building is in between our heads.  Tough to see when its not magnified.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

