Day 11: Change of flavor

Today’s Agenda:  3-mile tempo run.
Time -27:45
Pace – 9:15/mile

Welcome back friends,

Thanks to the St. Vrain School District and the wonders of iPhoto, I was able to use Melissa’s Apple computer to make a video of my running from the past year.  I posted it on youtube.

So lets get back to today’s running.  Melissa and I decided to change things up today.  We kept the distance but made it a tempo run.

A tempo run, like a mountain, consists of three parts:  ascent, peak, and descent.

We set out going down 124th.  I wanted to keep around a 10-minute pace for the ascent.  I continued for 1.5 miles.  In there I turned it up.  I was hoping to get around a 9-minute pace.

Got to turnaround point and kept up the intensity for a half mile before slowing to a 10-minute pace for the last part.

The heat still wasn’t strong but tempo runs are a sure-fire way to break a sweat.

The only thing about weather that is predictable, is that it is unpredictable.

So yesterday morning the sun was ablaze with a temperature near 70 degrees.  Today the wonderful Colorado mornings I have come to enjoy have returned.  It was in the low 60’s.  The sun was up but not spewing heat onto the earth.

I cleaned up and had to be on campus early.  Meeting with my editor and my advisor to talk about the close of my internship.

Can’t wait for it to end.  Not only will it put me a step closer to graduation, but the experience has taught me I am not disciplined enough for investigative reporting.  I have other passions I wish to explore.

Word of Advice:  Incorporate some speed work into your running plan.  Tempo runs and track work can shave off seconds, or even minutes, to help reach your “PR.”

I ran 400s and did tempo runs in my preparation for the Colorado Half-Marathon.  I improved my time from my first half-marathon by more than 30 minutes.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active lifestyle, running, sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 11: Change of flavor

  1. Melissa says:

    nice video!

Leave a Reply

