Day 13: Rest

Today’s Agenda:  Relaxation

Welcome everyone,

One nice thing about the switching of workouts is now I get a Saturday all to myself.  Melissa is off in Glenwood Springs.  Oh, what will I do!

My manhood skills got a major mark of approval today as I conquered that environmental-waster of a toilet we have in our apartment.  It randomly fills up throughout the day.  I’ve tried everything in the past week.  Melissa should be surprised when she comes home to find I have a handyman-esque quality!

I have been thinking about lengthening my playlist for America’s Finest City Half-Marathon.  I got advice from my running partner.  She told me “what’s the big deal if there are too many songs?”

So I look to add a few more songs – just to be on the safe side – and am searching for songs to add.  I always check the “songs to run to” playlist created by the Two Gomers at twogomers.com.

A day's rest does me some good.

I feel a touch sore from yesterday’s long run.

Nothing major.  Just the usual aches from torturing my legs with such distance.  Its medical name is Delayed onset muscle soreness (DOMS). It is defined as muscle soreness that is felt 12-48 hours after exercise.

I have heard a number of remedies from using a heating pad to sitting in an ice bath.

Remedies and more information about DOMS can be found at http://sportsmedicine.about.com/cs/injuries/a/doms.htm.

can you brave it?

Word of Advice:  Try an ice-bath.  I have no idea if it works because I have never tried it.  It sounds cold.  Not sure I have the tolerance to sit in one.  But the Gomers promote how great they make you feel, and experts agree.

So give it a try and leave a comment.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Bolder Boulder volunteer...giving back to the running community.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

