Day 14: Change of pace

Today’s Agenda:  Cardio activity
Bike ride
time: 1 hour 10 minutes

Welcome back,

How is your weekend going?

I very much enjoyed yesterday’s lack of activity.  I had 3 bowls of ice cream, almost an entire frozen pizza, and sat in a chair doing homework all day.  The homework-part I could have lived without.

A solid day none-the-less.

I shall not forget to mention last night I watched Brian’s Song.  The original movie, not the 2001 remake – while good doesn’t quite carry as much emotion as its 1971 predecessor.

Jezebel, my cat, even shed a couple tears.

Today I chose to do some biking to accomplish the day’s task.  I recently got my bike fixed after a year of little-to-no use due to no brakes.  Today it finally rolls across the Dry Creek Trail, and with brakes!  Thanks to my step-dad Randy who’s handwork continually saves me some money.

I loaded my bike into my parents’ Nissan Xterra.  Melissa gets back tonight and without her I’ve no car.  Then after church went back to their house for lunch before starting my trek home on the Dry Creek trail.

I covered roughly 13 miles in a little more than a hour.

It was warm but got a good breeze on the downhill parts.  Dry Creek is an amazing trail.  It goes under roads so I can ride 8 miles without stopping.  That’s nice.  Plus its just safer – and my family is thankful for that!

Least today didn’t reach a triple digit temperature.  During my ride the temperature got to only 94 degrees.  It has been an incredibly warm summer in Colorado (climate change, anyone?)

I can really feel my cardiovascular self improving.  I pushed myself today and I’ve never been much of a biker.  I am doing trail runs, half-marathons, and even think I can do a marathon.  The years of abuse my body took from excessive fast food, poor diet, smoking, heavy drinking, and little activity are finally giving way to the new “healthy me.”

Word of Advice:  Write a mantra, such as “Be strong,” on your hand during a race.  Look down at it anytime for inspiration.  This helps to focus in those tough times, says Bob Cooper in Runner’s World “Follow the Leader” section.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

me and Melissa...can't wait for her to get home:)

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active lifestyle, running, sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

