Day 15: Day of reflection

Today’s Agenda:  Rest

Welcome readers,

This begins another week of Hal Higdon’s Marathon Training:  Novice.  In 15 days you can obviously see I didn’t start from the beginning.  I have been doing half marathons for awhile, so when Melissa and I decided on the Denver Rock n’ Roll Marathon we did not have the time to do the full training program.

Luckily, we have a strong base – over 2 years of running – so skipping the beginning shouldn’t effect us as we were already in training for Iowa’s Dam to Dam 20k.

Long's Peak in Estes

With a rest day, and recovering from the sunburn I got on yesterday’s bike ride, Melissa and I are headed to Estes Park.

Some old high school friends, now husband and wife, are visiting from Nebraska. 

It will be good to rest.  Right now my arms would slap me if I went running.  I think minimal motion is required today.

Word of Advice:  Don’t risk skin cancer.  Put on sun screen.

A Runners world study reports marathoners show an increased risk for skin cancer. Experts suggest wearing a sunscreen, SPF 30 or higher, while running.

Even with the layer of sunscreen, 20 percent of the sun’s UVB rays will enter the skin and produce the maximum daily amount of vitamin D your body needs.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active lifestyle, running, sports and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

