Day 16: Back in the grind

Today’s Agenda:  3 miles
Time:  30:00 minutes
Pace:  10:00/miles

Welcome world,

Rest days sometimes don’t seem enough.  Did a lot of walking, strutted my mini-golfing skills to my friends, and that was it.

Yet I awoke this morning feeling lethargic.  Melissa and I had to get an early start this morning.  She has a long day of classes ahead of her.

By the time I was locking the door and we turned to begin our walk, I tried to think of any excuse to go back inside and climb in bed.

Herman Munster

My legs were sore and tired.  When I began to run it felt like slow motion.  So much effort for little accomplishment.  I began to picture what I must have looked like.  The image that flashed to mind:  Herman Munster.

This morning Melissa and I started outside Stellar Elementary.  Did the simple out and back down 124th.

Luckily, it got much better after the rough start.  My heavy legs gave way to the motion and my pace crept up.  By the turnaround, I was holding a sub 10-minute mile.

I finished tired but not out of breath.  That’s how Higdon describes the effort for these maintenance runs.

Word of Advice:  Slurp down a slushy before a run. If it is a bit too warm, grab the icy refreshment for relief.

In a study by New Zealand researchers, runners who slurped an icy slushy before a sweltering run lasted an average of  10 minutes longer than participants who gulped a cold drink.

Go out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

My visit to Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active lifestyle, running, sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

