Day 17: Kickin’ off the rust

Today’s Agenda:  5 miles
Time:  49:50
Pace:  9:57/mile

Welcome everyone,

Me after a good run

I have to say this morning’s run was great.  It wasn’t record breaking but it was “funk breaking.”

A “funk” is a string of three or more runs where one’s performance, or effort, is less than desired.

The beginning of the end for these lethargic runs started at 5:00 this morning.  It was great to get an early start because the temperatures were only in the mid-60’s.  I was able to run in a shirt with sleeves!

Starting out it took a half-mile to get comfortable.  After that, I took off.

I paid more attention to my form.  As I have progressed through the years, I have gotten less rigid about if my arms are making a 90 degree angle and keeping my head looking straight ahead.  I definitely need to work on that area.

That second mile felt perfect.  I lost myself in my music.  My motions were effortless.  It helped I was running towards the sun rising.  Then the last half-mile my pace slowed.  My throat was dry and reminded me I need to increase my water in-take – and slow down on the soda.

This morning’s route started near 120th and Colorado.  I ran toward Washington Street but went down the street before to get on a trail.  That got me on 124th which I took straight home.

It was more running on streets, which I’m not fond of.  Though, that early in the morning traffic is not a problem.

Word of Advice:  A good running form will improve performance and decrease the risk of injury.  What is good form?  “I believe there is a perfect stride for every runner,” saidPhil English, coach of Eisenhower High in Yakima, Washington, in an interview with Runner’s World. English warns that “not all runners should have the same perfect stride.”

For tips on improving your stride Runner’s World talks to the experts and breaks down ways to improve.

I was hoping to find out what type of runners are reading this.  Take this poll and let me know how long you have been running.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

My nephew Carson and I on his first Geocache.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in healthy and active lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, running, sports, The best running gear and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

