Day 23: Keepin’ cool

Today’s Agenda: 3-mile run
Time:  28:44
Pace:  9:32/mile

Welcome,

This morning it was mid-60s and the air still had a touch of cool in it.  Perfect morning for a run.  So I got out and started the first of the three-day running stretch.

Maybe not that tired.

I have to admit it was tempting not to get out of bed.  I am in finals week at school.  I have an essay, a long story, and an article due before the end of the week.

Stress has begun to wear me down.  The thought of when I would have time to make it up was about the only thing to get me out the door.  Once outside, I sure was glad to experience this beautiful morning.

Maybe it was the cool air but something told me today I should push myself a little.  So shortly after the start, I pushed my body to do better.  I got onto the Eastlake trails.  There were a lot of people either walking their dogs or on a jog themselves.

I noticed my head not looking straight forward.  Constantly, I look upward.  I have heard about running posture and that bad form leads to wasted energy.

Energy shouldn’t be wasted when running a marathon, I think.

After finishing the lap around the lake I headed back home.  I boosted my speed the last half-mile.  I felt great after I completed today’s run.  Training has gone pretty well.  Although I think I started a little sluggish, things have definitely improved.

America’s Finest, here I come.

Word of Advice:  Beat the heat and try placing a couple ice cubes on a sponge underneath your hat or roll a row of ice cubes in a bandanna and tie it around your neck for a trickle of cool water.

Melissa, on our last run, tried the ice in the bandanna and thought it was the greatest idea ever.  Thanks Runner’s World!

Go out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Volunteering at Bolder Boulder

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, active lifestyle, healthy and active lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, personal, running, Running for fitness, Running for sport and competition, running to relieve stress, sports, The best running gear and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

