Day 24: Passion Bucket

Today’s Agenda:  6-mile run
Time:  1:00:09
Pace:  10:03

Welcome,

Readers have asked what is a passion bucket.  It originated on the college football season at Rick Neuheisel’s press conference 2 years ago as UCLA’s new coach.  The phrase has hit mainstream.  Kobe Bryant dropped “passion bucket” during a post-game interview, Dan Patrick’s passion bucket “is full” and he haggles guests to drop a passion bucket during post-game conferences and other public events.

Youtube.com had the video of where it all began.

So, I awoke with a passion bucket less than full.  I gave my teeth an extra long brushing, taking long as possible to get out the door.

Eventually it had to happen.  The fresh air didn’t excite me.  I felt like going back to bed so the resulting run surprised me.

I took off down from Branter Open Sprace Trail.  I finally found a tool to map my runs.  It’ll be easier to understand visually.  Hopefully, you might want to map some runs too on mapmyrun.com.

As my feet got moving, my motivation improved.  The uninspired movements I began with, suddenly became effortless motions.  My head looked straight forward, strides became more even, and my breathing became repetitious.

Approaching the turnaround point, I glanced at my watch.  I was holding a sub 10-minute pace up to that point.

Halfway home, the sweat from my forehead showered my body.  My shirt became a wash cloth.  The sun had come up.  It was nearing 7:00 a.m. and the heat was on the rise.

That effortlessly perfect stride transformed into flailing arms and frantic breathing.  Luckily my legs kept me moving – kind of.  I had to take a couple walk breaks which revived me enough to finish.

Word of Advice:  Wonder how much to drink during a hot summer run, take a sweat-rate test.  Weigh yourself naked before and after a hot one-hour run.    Each pound lost translates to  16 oz of fluid that you sweated away – and about how much you need to drink per hour.

Go out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, active lifestyle, get out of a funk, healthy and active lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, personal, running, Running for fitness, Running for sport and competition, running to relieve stress, sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

