Day 33: Dry heat is an energy drainer

Today’s Agenda:  13-mile run
Time –
Pace –

Welcome world,

My third run in three days, in three states.  This time it was in Arizona’s Lake Havasu.  The low today was 91 degrees with a high 115 degrees.

Melissa and I started the run at 5:00 a.m. and it was warm.  At least the sun wasn’t up and there was a coolness in the air.  The scenery was beautiful.

Passing by the houses, I noticed the lawns were all rocked.  There were Cacti everywhere and before heading out, we were warned to watch out for rattle snakes – thankfully we never had to experience that situation.

We ran out of town and onto some dirt paths.  I faced some massive hills and it was quite challenging.  By this point we had barely covered 2 miles and were beginning a run/walk method.  Otherwise, there was no way we were going to finish this run.

By mile 4 we finally reached flat ground.  There was a bit of gravel and I took a fall.  Cut my shoulder and knee.  It was painful but not as bad as when later Melissa sprayed antiseptic on it.

I cleaned up in a gas station.  Melissa bought us an Amp.  Then we took off to finish the last 7 miles.

The sun was up.  The heat kept rising.  We increased the walking and ended on the London Bridge.  Not a replica, the real deal.

It was bought by the city and shipped from London to Arizona.  How that was done is a mystery.

I have tons of pictures to post but need to find the cord – which I probably forgot like my medicine.

Word of Advice:  Nature is awesome.  I forgot my iPod in Cali. and Melissa didn’t charge her Touch, forcing us to run with nature as the background music.  It was incredible.  Granted we were in a beautiful setting here but it is something I would want to do again, with Melissa.

Go out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, active lifestyle, healthy and active lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, personal, running, Running for fitness, Running for sport and competition, sports, The best running gear and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 33: Dry heat is an energy drainer

  1. melissa says:

    Awww….I would do it again with you too!

  2. Carol says:

    What an adventuresome run you had! And challenging. Glad to hear the fall wasn’t to bad. Love Mom

Leave a Reply

