Day 39: Last run before the AFC Half-marathon.

Today’s Agenda:  4-mile run.

Hello readers,

A 2-day rest sits in front of me after this morning’s run.  It was good to get out of the way.  Now I can enjoy a couple days of vacation before the race.

Sorry, no stats again.  I hate not being able to keep up but that’s vacation.

Picked up the pace this morning – 10:30/mile.  Had trouble keeping up with Melissa.  She seemed to find it easier to run this morning than I did.  It wasn’t hard but it wasn’t difficult, if that makes any sense!

I am beginning to worry about all the small things.  Did I ease up too much this week?  My eating sucked.  My schedule detours from the norm.  Will this all effect me?

My worries about California’s weather was not needed.  The weather has been great.  This morning it was cool.  The sun barely came out, in fact I never put on my sunglasses.  This could really help me from burning out.

I am going to enjoy myself.  In this competitive atmosphere I climbed into, I am going to enjoy the beauty of San Diego and running in a new environment.  While I am going to continually peek at my watch, I will try to smile.

Am I the only one who thinks about getting better?  I have no idea where this competitive spirit came from but I cannot settle in running.  I need to improve.  I want a PR so badly this weekend.  I remember watching my high school basketball team’s coach rip his players for not practicing hard (I was student manager).  I thought what a wacko but I hear his tirades this week.

Word of Advice:  I’m asking anyone, know any tips on how to keep a training diet while on a “runcation?”

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, Running for sport and competition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

