Day 42: Race day

Today’s Agenda:  America’s Finest City Half-Marathon.

Hello World,

The event has come and past.  In all aspects, it was a success.  Finishing in 2:11:28, I set a new PR in the San Diego race.

After setting multiple alarms and asking for a wake-up call, I gave America’s Best City my best effort.  A new PR is what I came for.  I know I talked about a sub 2:10, so I already have my next goal set.

Melissa and I boarded the bus in Balboa Park.  It was a quick ride to the start point.  I spent the next two hours visiting the restrooms and talking with other runners.  Then after the sound of the gun, we were off.

The course began with 4 miles downhill.  That was the easy part.  I kept a fast pace around a sub 10-minute mile.  As it flattened, so did my speed.  The legs felt good, breathing was fine and I had Melissa pushing me not to slow myself.

Mile 7 brought the fatigue I had been avoiding.  My gel helped me fight through it.  Everything was good except for a numbing sensation in my arm, that followed me through the entire race.  If anyone knows any causes, please leave a comment.  I’m curious.

Melissa had pushed me all the way to mile 10.   I got an energy burst,  blew a kiss and was off.  Everything was good till mile 11.5 where runners began the mile ascent.

I may have been doing hill workouts over the past couple months but I struggled.  Battling the urge to walk, I made it to the top.  It seemed like forever to find the finish line but I eventually did.

The West Coast city provided ideal weather conditions, beautiful scenery and  lots of supporters along the course.  It was a fantastic experience.  A race I would rate very highly.  I plan on highlighting more trials and tribulations from the AFC Half-Marathon in a later blog.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, personal, Running for sport and competition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 42: Race day

  1. Carol says:

    Congrats on an amazing race!!

Leave a Reply

