Day 50 and 51: Rest sure helps

The fatigue vanished Tuesday on my run.  While areas still felt sore, it wasn’t preventing me from motion.  I can’t tell you how great a feeling it was to run – without wanting to quit.

No records were broken yesterday.  The run came only two days after Sunday’s 15-miler.  I wanted to just make sure my body could move.  And it did!

The beginning of the run, I just wanted to enjoy it and hope the aches had disappeared.  The weather was cool.  A rarity during this Colorado summer.

As I hit mile 2 my speed increased.  I increased my pace significantly to mile 3.  It had begun to lightly rain and since I felt good, pushed to get home sooner.  Unfortunately my stamina fell and I had to rein in my speed burst.

Besides being soaked when I got home, I occurred no negatives out there.  My headphones didn’t like the water much and stopped working, ugh!

I completed 4 miles in 43:51.  My pace was just under 11:00/miles.

After yesterday’s positivity I hoped there would be no setbacks this morning.  I had my chocolate milk – I drink before runs to help my stomach – and was ready to begin today’s run.

Originally today was supposed to be a 8-mile run.  Melissa and I decided the need for recovery and time constraints would cut it in half.  4 miles seemed sufficient.

Nothing to note about this run.  I kept an even pace for the most part.  It went a touch faster at 42:49 with a pace of 10:41/mile.

Word of Advice:  I don’t like buying expensive protein bars and shakes for post-run recovery snacks.  While I enjoy them, sometimes a cheaper substitute  works great.  To promote recovery the snack should include at least 10 grams of protein and a moderate amount of carbohydrates, according to workout-fuel giant, PowerBar.

A string cheese and an apple contain 14 grams of protein.  One cup of low-fat yogurt provides 11 grams of protein.  But I have been amazed with the many choices I have, including bars and shakes.

Go out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Melissa and me outside In N Out.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, Running for fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

