Day 59 and 60: Remember the rise, not the fall

The weather Thursday was amazing.  When I went to run it was 55 degrees.  Just a little chill at the start is good.  I always warm up midway.  Unfortunately, I saw the forecast predict a warm weekend.

I took a familiar trail yesterday morning.  Because of construction, I don’t run on it often.  The construction is finished – finally – and I have an old route back.  If I begin the trail at Colorado, there are only four streets that cut through it.  They are all residential.  Some people even respect the white lines that signify a crosswalk.

From the start I held a fast pace.  After a mile I thought about slowing down a little but Melissa was right there so I carried forward.  We turned around at 2.5 miles before I knew it.  I surprisingly still felt good all the way to the finish.  The 5 miles took me 53 minute, giving a pace of 10:33/mile.

My spirits really picked up during this run.  Some of these long runs are really draining.  Not to mention the never-ending soreness and tiredness that accompanies marathon training takes a lot out of me.  I think it that meeting with Jerry Armstrong was at the perfect time.  Being around the running community excited me about my conquest.

Today I’m taking it easy.  Busy with homework and the constant changes that happen when setting up interviews.  My article is on workout fads.  Thankfully running isn’t one of them!

Go out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Day before America's Finest City Half-Marathon.

Feel free to leave any comments or questions below.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

