Day 61 and 62

Time goes too fast I noticed as I look back on this weekend.  I completed 12 miles early Saturday morning before heading to dog-sit.

I thought I had planned a perfect out-and-back route that involved looping around East Lake.  What I had felled to think of was almost a fatal error.  Who thinks about Cyotes in a heavily populated area?  As we rounded a corner and listened to the ghostly houl that seemed to be on our heels.  It came from the lake so between Melissa and myself, the water was maybe 20 – 30 yards away. 

Lets just say we sped up a bit.  At the first opportunity to cut out I read a sign, “Beware of Cyotes.”  It spooked the crap out of me.  Lesson learned – think of wildlife when planning routes, especially in nature reserve areas. 

After that scare, I remember getting to mile 6 and taking my PowerGel.  Vanilla, yum.  I gave a running tip learned from last week’s presentation a try.  Sixteen ounces of water and a tablet of nuun makes a drink that replenishes the body with electrolytes.  I like the idea of getting away from Gatorade and the amount of unnatural things in it.  Less is more I have learned. 

The new drink was fine.  Tasted like 7-Up.  It wasn’t all syrupy.  Spill a little Gatorade on the hand and I’ll spend the next mile trying to get it off.  This was water.  Think I fell in love. 

After the half-way point the sun began to rise.  The mountains were painted into the blue sky.  The air stayed cool long enough to get home.  This run went rather smoothly.  I got home and thought about running an almost half-marathon and feeling relatively good. 

Word of Advice:  Give some new products a try weeks before a race.  I’m hesitant on changing routine.  Luckily I have a girlfriend who tires of routine.   But the other important part of that statement is the time.  Don’t try something new on race day – that’s a must – but routine is important to me.  I want to try it more than a few times before I conclude it as a part of my routine.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, Running for fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

