Day 63, 64, 65, and 66: Getting through the routine.

Monday was a great “rest” day.  Seriously, my rest day consisted of biking all over Denver.  I have lost my mind!

I had been wanting to try out B-cycle, which is a community-type thing where you rent a bike in one spot and switch it for another bike at a different location.  It is a cheap and a good way to exercise while getting to see the city.  It was a blast.  Melissa and Samantha went with me.  We began at the Cherry Creek Mall, rode over to the 16th Street Mall and REI.  It was a great day with temperatures in the 70’s.  The trails were busy with runners and bikers.  Everyone was enjoying this wonderful afternoon.

Before school Tuesday I ran 4 miles in 41:00 minutes.  I noticed my speed at the halfway mark.  The body felt good so instead of slowing down I sped up.  I averaged 10:09/mile.  Whoo!

Conditions were perfect.  My ankle felt great (I’ll get back to that later).  I was pumped up at the finish.  I love short distances.

Then came Tuesday (dramatic music)!  Did a night run.  Learned my lesson too.  By the end of the day it is much harder to get out the door.  My mind is working and easily can come up with excuses telling me to stay home.  But with work, Melissa and I wouldn’t have been able to run together otherwise.  Tired and against my will, at 4:30 p.m. I set out on my 9-mile run.

In a poor mood and having to make a restroom pitstop, I wanted to turn around.  I’m not sure if Melissa would have fought me.  Her spirits weren’t so high after a long day of 1st graders.  But it is still that accountability that comes with a running partner.  Grit and go.  And off we were.

So after a painful 3 miles my legs got comfortable and I began to actually enjoy the run.  Slow and steady, that is my motto.  I took two short-walk breaks in the final 6 miles.  Sometimes it is best to walk a bit, a chance to catch my breath and actually get some water in my mouth.  It is amazing what 15 seconds can do.  Nothing bad happened physically but I definitely faced a huge mental challenge.  I am proud to have finished.

Before setting out we decided to ditch the gel and just bring water.  That seemed to work fine.  I held an 11:15 pace.  Very impressive for how slow I thought I was going.  Then I sat on the couch for an hour of Minute To Win It.  I love that show.

Now, you’d think I’d earn a day off after that run.  At least a 12-hour break from running -not even close.  5:00 a.m. Thursday I was back out running.  My body rejected the idea of getting out of bed but I forced myself up.   After only a few steps I felt the pain in my foot.  It had subsided for most of this week.  It really bothered me.  I could feel it altering my stride.  Hopefully it is just tired and sore from a busy couple days and just needs a rest day.

I got my mind straight and focused on getting through the 5 miles.  I was doing fine – tired and sore – and was moving forward till, Wham!…I smack my head on a low branch.  I am pissed at Thornton services.  I think I’ve ranted before about their abuse of pedestrians while they throw billions into repaving and expanding streets, the city can’t put a few thousand towards trimming some trees and bushes.

At this point I thought I was done.  I started walking but Melissa talked me into running to the light.  There I took the short way home while she went to finish the whole run.  Impressively, maybe even courageously, I never walked again.  I ran home, slowly.  I made it damn it.  Well I was short of five but I finished 4.4 miles strong.

Tomorrow, besides bike riding to class, will be a complete rest day.  Probably rub some Icy Hot on the ankle and let it rest.  I’m looking forward to it.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Downtown Denver on B-Cycle day.

Feel free to leave comments below.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, Running for fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 63, 64, 65, and 66: Getting through the routine.

  1. Carol says:

    I love your blog today! Way to get the miles in!!

Leave a Reply

