Day 67: Facing a giant.

David vs Goliath

“Who is this uncircumcised Philistine that he should defy the armies of God?”

No, this isn’t my catch phrase.  That is what David said aloud after listening to Goliath’s blowhorn before the happenings of the biblical story David vs Goliath.  I had my own giant to face:  18 miles.

With a PR of 16 miles (last week), the task seemed daunting.  Unfortunately, the marathon is 26.2 miles, so eventually I’ll have to conquer the distance.  Why not today.  I laced my shoes and out the door I stormed.

Melissa drove us to the Platte River trailhead.  This trail is perfect for long runs.  It goes underneath the streets.  I never have to cross a street – that is pretty awesome.  Another benefit is the trail is relatively flat.  A few minor hills – unless you’ve run 10 miles then the hills get bigger.  One negative about the trail and running at 5 a.m. is the darkness.  It was near pitch black.  Firstly, there’s the fact I could not defend myself against (insert insult).  Second, a few days ago I wrote about the scare Melissa and I had with Coyotes.  We have never heard their howl but I now am terrified of a face-to-face encounter.

Neither of us got ate by the Coyotes and we moved into mile 3.   After a runner’s world article about drinking water early in a run, I started doing just that.  I’ll have to continue it a few more times before I’m convinced but my last two times I drank early – both were good runs.  The nuun tablets are wonderful.  This is my second use.  It is nice to have a flavored water.  A nice change of pace.  I took the drink at mile 13.  At mile 6 and 11, I took a gel.  I’m carrying about all I can.  Pretty soon I’m going have a backpack!

Miles 6-9 were on a race course.  I guess they can’t block the trail because its public?  Maybe we were early.  The race hadn’t started.  The race was to support lost firemen’s families in 9/11.  On the way out the course, I had asked some volunteers setting up a table.

The middle kinda blurred.  Melissa and I zoned into our iPods.  I have a genius playlist off the song  Runaway by Stroke 9.  Good stuff.  The sun came up shortly after the turnaround but luckily it didn’t heat up much.  Toward mile 13 my ankles really acted up.  They had hurt since I woke but the running made it worse.  I have tried not complaining but the ankle has been nagging me for a couple weeks.  I read something on increasing distance and it could just be your body adjusting.  I have also read some things that worry me.

I spent tonight on a strict schedule:  ice, heat and elevate.  Well it doesn’t hurt now.  That’s not surprising.  The pain when not running is mild to non-existent.  When running, agony.  I take care of it tonight, rest and watch football tomorrow and take it easy Monday.  Then re-evaluate the situation.  My thought is the check has been cashed.  A race bib that has been paid for has a number that identifies me.  If the ankle isn’t broken I’m running.  If it is broken maybe I can find a wheelchair.

Advice from other runners:  “Instead of laying out your running clother, go to bed dressed to run, wrote Lisa, Michigan to Runner’s World.  I thought the idea was hilarious.  I’m always looking ways to be more prepared.  Just thought I’d put it out there.  Lisa goes on to say “I even wear my sports bra and socks so I’m ready to go in the a.m.”

Go out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Hiking in Red Rocks

Feel free to leave any comments or questions below.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, Running for fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

