Day 70: The rest is over.

Time to get back in it.  Enjoyed the rest.  Spent some time icing and heating my ankle, and even rubbing a little Icy Hot on it.  Feels fine now except I can feel a tickle of pain once in a while.  Not sure if its in my head or really there.  So I had to test it with a 5-mile jog this morning.

Yep, still there.  After caring for it I am getting a bit concerned.  It is milder so another week of ice and heat and maybe then it will be all better.

It isn’t inhibiting my running.

I put on a clinic this morning.  Set out to run 5 miles at 5 a.m. and was back before sunrise.  I ran a 10:18 pace, with a strong finish.  I probably would’ve strolled to the end but Melissa kept speeding up.  Her power song, Rawkfist by Thousand Foot Krutch, came up on her iPod and off she went with me chasing after her.

I finished not out of breath, even after that little burst.  The training has definitely increased my endurance.  The breathing and respiratory aspects have really been improved by, I think, my increasing water intake.  I have come to realize a marathoner doesn’t intake 2-liters of pop a day.  Okay, I probably still drink around that but less is less (so true).

Word of Advice:  Having trouble qualifying for the Boston Marathon?  Start your own.  Seriously, Mike Tammaro did just that.  Actually he did qualify but didn’t sign up soon enough and had to wait for next year.  He created his own marathon reported Runner’s World magazine.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 70: The rest is over.

  1. Crystal Tjeerdsma says:

    I’ll have to look up that song! You are both doing an awesome job. So proud of you:)

Leave a Reply

