Day 77, 78 and 79: Legendary

The peak of this training program is in full effect.  It is all down hill after this, at least that’s what I keep telling my body (which reminds me the race is 26.2 miles).  This week’s mileage hits a personal-high of 40.  I have learned a great admiration for rest days.

The mornings are getting chilly.  Soon I will be pulling out my winter running gear.  This morning was in the 50s and I can actually warm up.  Pretty soon I’m gonna be wearing compression pants, shirt and gloves.  I’m not the bravest runner.  Melissa can bear much colder weather than me.

Besides a mishap with my Nike+ (forgetting to hit the button), the run went well.  It was the slowest pace for the shorter training runs thus far.  I’m not sure what that means.  I enjoy statistics for my own personal competition but if I’m not in a race, really, pace doesn’t matter much.  Sleep, nutrition, time of the run – all factor in.  It is more regimented during race week.  I have been up late studying, not on a regular eating schedule – so I’m not worried.

The first run of the week its good just to get back out there.  I felt that today.  I love running and a couple days off is enough.  Rest helped heal my body, although its going to appreciate next week’s mileage decline.

Wednesday night brought on the longest mid-week run – 10 miles.  I was worried about it being too hot.  A light rain accompanied the first few miles while the sky stayed overcast for the entirety.  I was tired but not sure I broke a sweat!

It took those first few miles to warm up.  Then I just zoned in on my stride till I took my gel.  All this mileage has increased my endurance.  Melissa and I noted that 10 miles is still challenging but not the massive feat it once seemed. The gel seemed to have the opposite effect one would expect.

The second half became agonizing.  Maybe I needed the rain to come back.  I had come across quite a few hills.  That probably drained me.  I kept thinking only a few miles left.  And they were on a gravel trail which really takes the pressure off the knees. Somehow I continued on and finished the 10 miles with an impressive 11:30 pace.

Rest was short lived.  Less than 12 hours later, the alarm buzzed for me to do 5 miles.  Ugh!  I got out the door though, and that was an accomplishment.

Now I’ve never broken all the bones in my body but I think it feels like I did trying to run.  Everything hurt.  My joints creaked, my foot cried for a break and it wore me down.

I kept strong in the beginning.  Just trying to stay with Melissa was a lot of work.  I focused on my stride.  One foot in front of the other, head looking forward, arms right-angled, blah blah blah.  No trick was going work.  I was tired.  I was overworked.  I was walking.

Incredibly I took a breather and ran again.  I wanted to finish this 20 miles in 3 days legitimately.  My legs began to churn again and I was off to finish.  I took two more short walk-breaks.  And I finished!

Word of Advice:  To get faster times incorporate some of these speed workouts in your training:  tempo runs (raise your lactate threshold) and intervals (improve cardiovascular system).

I think they add some competitiveness and fun to training.  I plan to incorporate them into my weekly schedule after the Denver Marathon.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Comments or questions about me or my training?

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

