Day 82: The Big One.

Today I stood toe-to-toe with my biggest running challenge – 20 miles.

I came, I conquered and I am exhausted.  20 miles completed in 3:52:48.  I was very happy with the 11:33 pace.  The chance for a sub 5-hour marathon was still attainable.

It is amazing my body continues moving forward that long.  Got it out of the way early but after the wedding thing last night and this morning’s run I am not thinking I will get to church.  Think me and the sofa are going to relax and enjoy football.  Sidenote- I found out the headliner for the Denver Rock n’ Roll Marathon is SemiSonic.  Its going to bring back some fond memories.

The alarm blared.  I woke and was pretty pumped up at the challenge before me.  Ate a good breakfast and got a late start, 7:00 a.m.)  The trail that runs along Clear Creek is a touch scary when its pitch black.  I saw a ton of runners today.  Usually I only see a few so obviously not everyone thinks beat-the-heat.

Miles 1 to 5 were a breeze.  I was keeping an 11:00 minute pace.  My old rock playlist was great – Springsteen, Mellencamp, CCR, Queen, and more greats.  So I took 1 of the 3 gels I brought and continued on.  Around mile 7 my ankle started bugging me but it went away a few miles later.  Fatigue took over the pain.  The miles started to take longer as the sun was coming up.  I ran past mile 7 where the 9/11 race went on.  Luckily, the course was not in use.  Passing mile 9 I realized I have never made it down the trail this far.

Crazy happening on mile 3.  We passed a guy on a park bench.  He took a picture of us.  The crazy people you come across in the world but it seemed to make him happy.

This gel stop was also great relief.  I was getting tired.  The sugary goo gave me an energy boost.  The next couple miles passed by.  Not much chatting w/ Melissa was happening.  I think we both were concentrating on moving forward.  As my mind wondered I heard Melisssa say we had crossed the half-marathon point.  That lifted my spirits.  I wasn’t near tired enough to have run 13.1 miles.

Mile 16 was a different story.  I stopped and took my final gel, downed some water and extended the walk a couple more seconds.  Somehow the legs began moving.  What I want to know is how come my arms get so sore running long distance.  Not like they are doing the work of my legs!  I diluted my water at mile 17 with a Nuun tablet, an electrolyte replenish-er.  Much better than Gatorade.

Boy was I getting tired.  Less than a 5k I told myself.  I wanted to finish strong.  After all, in the marathon there will still be 6 miles to run.  Well strong didn’t exactly happen.  A short walk occurred at 18 and again at 19.5.

The final 200 meters was a dead-on sprint.  A sprint on legs that were exhausted.  My goal was to finish in under 4 hours and I did.

Word of Advice:  Consider adding one healthy things to already healthy foods.  Example:  I have shredded carrots on my salad.  Other ideas to try can be adding blueberries to oatmeal, high in antioxidants and vitamin C, or chair seeds to boost yogurt, they are high in fiber and fight inflammation.

Get out and fill your passion bucket,

Kyle

Comments, Questions, or just want to tell me how great I am…

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, healthy and active lifestyles, Marathon Training for beginners, Running for sport and competition. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 82: The Big One.

  1. Melissa says:

    All I have to say is Espresso Love Gu…it did miracles for me and I am getting a couple for the marathon!

Leave a Reply

