Warm weather has arrived!

This week in Colorado has been cold – below freezing cold.  Wednesday last week, the first day of the cold front, I woke up and grabbed my iPhone.  The screen said it was 0 degrees!

snowAt least it wasn’t negative.I contemplated rolling back over for another hour of sleep but mustered enough strength and got out the door.  I looked more dressed to go snowshoeing than to go for a run.  A few inches of fresh snow lined the streets and off I headed.  All the layers, while uncomfortable to run in, kept me surprisingly warm.

I only made it a couple miles.  The constant worry of loosing my footing wore on me more than anything else.  After getting home I was really glad to have gotten out there.

Warm weather – by that, I mean temps in the 40s –  came back this week.  It has been nice to go out for a run not dressed like that kid from A Christmas Story.

A Christmas Story

Monday was a double workout day (gym and a 3 mile run).  The easiest way to get this in is to run to the gym – about a mile away.

I pulled an old workout from when I was training for Tough Mudder.  It included, on a bosu ball, lunges with leg lifts and squats.  That year I was in good shape but being the first time I have done it in awhile it kicked my butt.  A lot of soreness today.

My goal for this week is to stay more consistent.  No more staying in bed – especially now that I can’t use cold weather as an excuse.

Tip of the Week

Destination races are a fantastic way to include travel and this great sport.  Not only do you get to experience a new city, new restaurants and getting away from work but you get to run in a new location.

In 2010, my wife and I ran America’s Finest City Half Marathon in San Diego.  We got to experience hilly San Diego and its wonderful temperature.  Living out of a suitcase was also a change but with good planning (and double checking) I managed to not forget anything.

Marathons and half marathons aren’t the only type of events worth traveling to.  The Bolder Boulder, a 10k, attracts thousand of out-of-state runners and is one of America’s biggest races.  Active.com provided a list of destination races, including Colorado Springs’ Cheyenne Mountain Trail Race to Maine’s Lighthouse Ride.

Happy Running,

Kyle

Melissa and I ready morning of AFC Half-Marathon.

Melissa and I ready morning of AFC Half-Marathon.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

