Gym workouts, ugh.

The past two days have reached the 60s.  It was near 50 degrees when I got out for a run this morning.    I can’t get enough of these warmer temperatures.

Melissa and I headed out together for some fartleks.  We ditched the track workout – just didn’t have the energy for that.  It was a nice 3 mile run that ended with Starbucks.

My legs were still a bit sore from Monday’s gym workout.  Some days I am really glad I didn’t get the personal trainer I wanted a couple months ago.  The trainer would kick my butt!  I like going at my own pace and, just maybe, I am finally to the point where I can push myself to do more.

gym

Maybe I have a little more crunches to do before my stomach looks like that!

I have a couple short runs over the next couple days before this weekend’s long run – 90 minutes.  I can definitely feel my legs getting stronger as they get over the fatigue from my last marathon.  I am still not performing at the level I want, or need, to PR in my upcoming half marathon.  I guess that is why it is a training plan.  Just have to progress through the days and I will hopefully get stronger.  And I will.

Tip of the Week

I had a good week at the gym.  Getting consistent is just as important in core strengthening as in running.  Twenty minutes of strength training a few times a week can help to prevent injuries, recover faster and improve performance.

Many runners – including myself – sometimes get too focused on logging miles, running hills and speedwork.  All those are fantastic but don’t ignore strength training.  Find a way to get a couple gym days on the schedule.  Or do the workouts at home.  Last year I did Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred from home.  All you need is a couple hand weights and a mat helps.

Don’t avoid these workouts.  StrengthCIMG3021 Training will benefit your running so get to the gym.

Happy Running,

Kyle

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

