Under the weather

It has been a tough week.  Coming through the holidays is always tough – the added pounds, missed workouts, early darkness and, of course, it is still cold.  This year was no different.

no excuses

I actually did not miss too many workouts.  I cut a few short, like the 9-miler I wanted became 8 miles.  I ran straight to the gym from home instead of looping around to get the full 3 miles.  But I am getting out there and I am pretty happy with that.

But the missing workouts really started as 2014 began.  With the New Year came a cold.  I missed a day and a half of work and a few workouts.  If the Ralston Creek Half Marathon was today I would have no shot at beating the 2 hour mark.  This has to be the hardest milestone I have worked toward!

Also, with the new year is an opportunity for a fresh start.  Three days into 2014 is a bit early to panic and call a failure.  Hopefully taking a full day off work and a couple extra rest days will get me back on track.

Tip of the Week

Christmas and New Year’s have passed but this is something to keep in mind for next year – The Runner’s World Holiday Streak.

It begins at Thanksgiving continuing through New Year’s.  And it is simple:  pledge to run a mile each day.  The idea is knowing “it is just a mile” will get you out the door and, just maybe, you might continue running for 3 or 4 miles.

I will definitely take Runner’s World up on their challenge during the 2014 holiday stretch.  Hope you do too!

Happy Running,

Kyle

cropped-cimg3012.jpg

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in active and healthy lifestyles, active lifestyle, running, Running for fitness, Running for sport and competition, sports, The best running gear, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Under the weather

  1. Beverly Thiel says:

    Sorry you’ve had a cold, so have I since Christmas eve and now have bronchitis, I have to stay inside for sure now, ha. Take care an get well soon. lv ya Grandma Thiel

  2. Carol Stephens says:

    Include me in the holiday challenge next year. Great way to get out the door everyday:)

Leave a Reply

