Down and Out

sick

This week and last week have been taken over by a cold.  I spent most last week with 3 blankets on me and the heat up as I shivered between coughing fits.

Thanks to Nyquil I (and my wife) actually got some sleep last Thursday.  Unfortunately I still felt lethargic and sick when I awoke.  I missed all my workouts and a couple days of work as I slept away my illness.

I ran last Tuesday and didn’t get back out till yesterday.

I managed to get out the door, which is about all I can say about that.  I was happy to lace up and run but it was slow (very slow).  I had to take a walk break in the middle and managed to make it about 1.5 miles.  It felt like my first run and 8 years of being a smoker.

Nothing great but it was a pretty amazing feat after a week of sickness.  I did take this morning off but that was more because of an alarm snafu.

I hope to get back on track from here.

Tip of the Week

If you work in an office or are a student – or come into contact with humanity – it is pretty tough to avoid catching a cold.  Webmd provides some tips, including washing your hands, exercise and getting a flu shot.

It is all pretty basic but I work in a small office with about 50 people.  In the past couple months there are constantly 5 people sick making it difficult to avoid the viruses.

It finally got me.  Hope it is the only time this year.

About kdenny01

I became a father at 32 years. Hadley Elise has given me so much joy and has been another chapter in my life telling me not to be afraid. Fatherhood is awesome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

